Tomi Ungerer. L’enfant terrible

12|03
-
26|06

Well known for his children’s books (the unforgettable Three robbers) and the famous Moon Man, etc.), Tomi Ungerer (1931-2019) was a giant in the world of design in the second half of the 20th century. The fruit of boundless curiosity and unstinting commitment, his work – sharp and incisive, provocative and ever-changing – ranged from political satire to erotic illustrations.

Ungerer grew up in Alsace under the Nazi occupation and bore the scars of this disturbed childhood for the rest of his life. In 1957, like many European artists, he went to try his luck in the United States, where he enjoyed success but also drew condemnation. A staunch defender of freedom of expression, he screamed out his vision of the world through his resolutely vehement and unnerving posters and illustrations. Settling first in Nova Scotia and then in Ireland, he never stopped exploring the many aspects of his creativity, producing a vast, prodigious and unclassifiable body of work.

As part of a partnership with the Musée Tomi Ungerer-Centre International de l’Illustration (Strasbourg), the Fondation Folon is delighted to invite visitors to discover this great artist in spring 2022. An outrageous exhibition, featuring around a hundred of Ungerer’s iconic drawings and posters, in which he pulls no punches.

A comprehensive illustrated brochure has been produced to accompany the exhibition. By F. Pajak and T. Willer. 5,50€.

Booking

The exhibition is not recommended for children under 12 years old. An exhibition-workshop “Trois Brigands” will be offered in July-August 2022 for children.

Loading…

With the support of Wallonia, Walloon Brabant, CGT, Loterie Nationale, Banque Delen, La Première, Musiq’3, Le Soir, Soir Mag, TVCOM and ENSAV La Cambre.

Tomi Ungerer. L’enfant terrible

12|03
-
26|06

Bien connu pour ses livres jeunesse (l’inoubliable Trois brigands, le célèbre Jean de la Lune, etc.), Tomi Ungerer (1931-2019) s’impose comme un géant du dessin.Issue d’une curiosité sans fin et d’un engagement sans faille, son œuvre acérée et incisive, provocante et protéiforme, s’étend de la satire politique au propos érotique.

Ungerer grandit en Alsace sous l’occupation nazie et porte toute sa vie les stigmates de cette enfance bousculée. En 1957, comme nombre d’artistes européens, il part aux États-Unis tenter sa chance. Il y connait succès et condamnations. Défenseur inconditionnel de la liberté d’expression, il n’hésite pas à hurler sa vision du monde au travers d’affiches et de dessins résolument rageurs et déstabilisants. Optant pour la Nouvelle-Écosse, puis l’Irlande, il n’aura de cesse d’explorer les multiples facettes de sa créativité et de livrer une œuvre virtuose, immense et inclassable.

En partenariat avec le Musée Tomi Ungerer-Centre international de l’Illustration (Strasbourg), la Fondation Folon est heureuse de faire découvrir au printemps 2022 cet artiste hors normes, en une centaine de dessins et d‘affiches emblématiques. Une exposition choc, où aucune indifférence n’est de mise.

Un cahier, illustré et détaillé, accompagne l’exposition. Par Frédéric Pajak et Thérèse Willer. 5,50€.

Simultanément à l’exposition Ungerer qui se tient à La Hulpe, le Musée Tomi Ungerer organise, en partenariat avec la Fondation Folon, une exposition inédite sur l’œuvre de Folon intitulée « Folon. Un rêveur engagé » du 18 mars au 3 juillet 2022. 

Réservation

L’exposition peut heurter la sensibilité des enfants de moins de 12 ans. Une exposition-atelier “Trois Brigands” sera proposée en juillet-août 2022 pour les enfants.

Chargement en cours…

Avec le soutien de la Wallonie, du Brabant wallon, du CGT, de la Loterie Nationale, de la Banque Delen, de la Première, de Musiq’3, du Journal Le Soir, du Soir Mag, de TVCOM et de l’ENSAV La Cambre.