Transsibériades – Klavdij Sluban

The promenade exhibition, which was set up around the farm pond, featured a selection of large-format photographs tracing the artist’s trans-Siberian journey from the former USSR to China between 2001 and 2008. A winner of the Nièpce Prize (2000) and the Leica Prize (2004), Kalvdij Sluban (born Paris, 1963) is a French photographer of Slovenian origin. He grew up in Slovenia, which was where his visual universe developed, along with a particular mental image of the world, which was characterised by the contrasts between winter and autumn, between light and shade. Travelling, the journeys backward and forward between East and West which were a feature of his childhood, and then during his adult life, are one of his themes. In 1995, when he was leading a photography workshop at the young offenders’ prison in Fleury-Mérogis, he invited Henri-Cartier Bresson to take part. This led to a seven-year collaboration between the two artists.

The two men shared a fondness for Leica manual cameras, which they took with them everywhere they went. They worked slowly: they mingled among the crowd, blended into the landscape, tamed their subject, in order to capture it free from time pressures. Whereas Henri Cartier-Bresson captured the diversity of humankind in snapshots, with this sensitivity sometimes tinged with derision, Sluban, at the same time, showed the reality of the world and the intensity of his inner reality. His barren, practically lunar landscapes sometimes reflect absence, and sometimes the displacement of exile; his portraits, solemn in tone, illustrate the isolation of the human being in the face of destiny. In their two contrasting worlds, shade reveals light, and precision such as the careful choice of the frame, which enhances the image, is crucial.

The exhibition offered an opportunity to discover the parallel worlds of these two image poets, who came together, interacted, questioned each other, and linked the past and the present through a dialogue tinged with the subtle nuances offered by black and white photography.

×

Reservations are not required for museum.

Only intergenerational activities (guided tours and art workshops) are subject to booking.

Loading...

Rates

Museum

Adult 12€
Senior (+65 years old) 10€
Student (-26 years with card) 5€
Youngster (-18 years old) 5€
-6 years Free of charge
Family package (2 adults & 3 children) 30€
museumPASSmusées; ICOM; Presse Free of charge
Teacher (with card) 6€
Article 27 (with 1 ticket) 1.25€
Disabled person (+1 accompanying person) Free of charge

Temporary exhibition

Adult 10€
Senior (+65 years old) 9€
Student (-26 years with card) 5€
Youngster (-18 years old) 5€
-6 years Free of charge
Family package (2 adults & 3 children) 30€
museumPASSmusées; ICOM; Presse Free of charge
Teacher (with card) 6€
Article 27 (with 1 ticket) 1.25€
Disabled person (+1 accompanying person) Free of charge

Museum and temporary exhibition

Adult 15€
Senior (+65 years old) 12€
Student (-26 years with card) 5€
Youngster (-18 years old) 5€
-6 years Free of charge
Family package (2 adults & 3 children) 35€
museumPASSmusées; ICOM; Presse Free of charge
Teacher (with card) 6€
Article 27 (with 1 ticket) 1.25€
Disabled person (+1 accompanying person) Free of charge

Partner benefits

The Fondation Folon is a partner of EducPass, Passeport 365, Coupon 365, PASS VisitWallonia, VIF & KNACK Club. Please show your card to claim your discount.

Transsibériades – Klavdij Sluban

L’expo-promenade, aux abords de l’étang de la ferme, a présenté une sélection  de photographies grand format retraçant le périple transsibérien qui mena l’artiste de l’ex-URSS à la Chine, de 2001 à 2008. Lauréat du Prix Nièpce (2000) et du Prix Leica (2004), Kalvdij Sluban est un photographe français d’origine slovène, né à Paris en 1963. Il passe son enfance en Slovénie, où se constitue son univers visuel et une certaine image mentale du monde, marquée par les contrastes entre hiver et automne, entre ombre et lumière. Le voyage, les allers-retours Est-Ouest qui ont marqué son enfance, puis son âge adulte, sont un de ses thèmes. En 1995, alors qu’il anime un atelier photographique au Centre pour jeunes détenus de Fleury-Mérogis, il invite Henri-Cartier Bresson à y participer. Une complicité de sept ans lia les deux artistes.

Les deux hommes partagent une prédilection pour le Leica, entièrement manuel, qui les accompagne dans tous leurs déplacements. Leurs cycles sont lents : ils se mêlent à la foule, se fondent dans le paysage, apprivoisent leur sujet, pour se l’approprier en dehors de toutes contrainte temporelle. Si Henri Cartier-Bresson photographie en instantanés la diversité du genre humain, avec cette sensibilité parfois teintée de dérision, Sluban révèle simultanément la réalité du monde et l’intensité de sa réalité intérieure. Ses paysages dénudés, quasi lunaires traduisent tantôt l’absence, tantôt le déracinement de l’exil ; ses portraits, emprunts de gravité, témoignent de la solitude de l’être face à sa destinée. Dans leurs deux univers tout en contrastes, l’ombre révèle la lumière, et la précision comme la justesse du cadre, qui magnifie l’image, est essentielle.

L’exposition permet de découvrir les mondes parallèles de ces deux poètes de l’image, qui se croisent, se répondent, s’interpellent, et créent entre le passé et le présent un dialogue teinté de toutes les nuances subtiles qui se déploient du blanc au noir.

×

L'accès au musée se fait sans réservation.

Les réservations sont uniquement obligatoires pour les activités intergénérationnelles (visites guidées et ateliers artistiques).

Chargement en cours...

Tarifs

Musée

Standard 12€
+65 ans 10€
-26 ans (étudiant avec carte) 5€
-18 ans 5€
-6 ans Gratuit
Forfait famille (2 adultes & 3 enfants) 30€
museumPASSmusées ; ICOM ; presse Gratuit
Professeur (avec la carte Prof) 6€
Article 27 (avec 1 ticket) 1,25€
Personne porteuse de handicap (+1 accompagnant) Gratuit

Exposition temporaire

Standard 10€
+65 ans 9€
-26 ans (étudiant avec carte) 5€
-18 ans 5€
-6 ans Gratuit
Forfait famille (2 adultes & 3 enfants) 30€
museumPASSmusées ; ICOM ; presse Gratuit
Professeur (avec la carte Prof) 6€
Article 27 (avec 1 ticket) 1,25€
Personne porteuse de handicap (+1 accompagnant) Gratuit

Musée et expositions temporaires

Standard 15€
+65 ans 12€
-26 ans (étudiant avec carte) 5€
-18 ans 5€
-6 ans Gratuit
Forfait famille (2 adultes & 3 enfants) 35€
museumPASSmusées ; ICOM ; presse Gratuit
Professeur (avec la carte Prof) 6€
Article 27 (avec 1 ticket) 1,25€
Personne porteuse de handicap (+1 accompagnant) Gratuit

Avantages partenaire

La Fondation Folon est partenaire d’EducPass, du Passeport 365, du Coupon 365, du VIF & KNACK Club et du PASS VisitWallonia. Merci de présenter votre carte afin de bénéficier de l’avantage.