He focused on representing the humble objects of everyday life – bottles, vases, boxes, candlesticks – organised in series of sober, practically identical compositions. Painted in an intentionally limited palette of colours, these tiny variations bring out the intrinsic beauty of the object. His contrasting landscapes exploit chiaroscuro and the subtle whims of light that we find in the vibrant stillness of his still lifes.

Engraving, which featured prominently in the exhibition, made up a large part of Morandi’s work. From the 1920s onwards, Morandi practised it with rigour and determination. He trained in etching and transferred the skills he acquired into his painting, where we can observe his refined chromatic sensitivity. However, Morandi was primarily considered an expert engraver. He enjoyed considerable fame, so much so that, between 1928 and 1934, he was invited to take part in the black and white section at the Venice Biennale. In 1930, the City of Bologna awarded him the professorship in engraving at the Academy of Fine Arts. He reached his peak in the discipline in the years 1933-1934. In 1948, the National Centre of Engraving and the Printed Image in Rome published an anthology of his etchings.

Morandi’s etchings differ from his paintings only in terms of technique, and the reciprocity is such that we can sometimes see the equivalent of brushstrokes in the hatching in his etchings. The whole image is brought to life by his somewhat dense hatching. These areas of blank space seem to be an intentional simplification of reality, in his quest for the essential.

The arrangement of the works in the exhibition enabled a magical imaginary dialogue between the two artists. The motionless ballet of Folon’s snapshots, hung in pairs in space and time, seemed to respond to the silent and secret symphony of the contrasts arranged by the maestro Morandi…

×

Reservations are not required for museum.

Only intergenerational activities (guided tours and art workshops) are subject to booking.

Loading...

Rates

Museum

Adult 12€
Senior (+65 years old) 10€
Student (-26 years with card) 5€
Youngster (-18 years old) 5€
-6 years Free of charge
Family package (2 adults & 3 children) 30€
museumPASSmusées; ICOM; Presse Free of charge
Teacher (with card) 6€
Article 27 (with 1 ticket) 1.25€
Disabled person (+1 accompanying person) Free of charge

Temporary exhibition

Adult 10€
Senior (+65 years old) 9€
Student (-26 years with card) 5€
Youngster (-18 years old) 5€
-6 years Free of charge
Family package (2 adults & 3 children) 30€
museumPASSmusées; ICOM; Presse Free of charge
Teacher (with card) 6€
Article 27 (with 1 ticket) 1.25€
Disabled person (+1 accompanying person) Free of charge

Museum and temporary exhibition

Adult 15€
Senior (+65 years old) 12€
Student (-26 years with card) 5€
Youngster (-18 years old) 5€
-6 years Free of charge
Family package (2 adults & 3 children) 35€
museumPASSmusées; ICOM; Presse Free of charge
Teacher (with card) 6€
Article 27 (with 1 ticket) 1.25€
Disabled person (+1 accompanying person) Free of charge

Partner benefits

The Fondation Folon is a partner of EducPass, Passeport 365, Coupon 365, PASS VisitWallonia, VIF & KNACK Club. Please show your card to claim your discount.

Il s’attache à représenter les humbles objets de la vie quotidienne – bouteilles, vases, boites, bougeoirs – organisés en séries de compositions sobres, quasi identiques. Peintes dans une palette de couleurs volontairement réduite, ces menues variations exaltent la beauté intrinsèque de l’objet. Ses paysages contrastés jouent sur le clair-obscur et les caprices subtils de la lumière que l’on retrouve dans l’immobilité vibrante de ses natures mortes.

La gravure, largement représentée dans l’exposition, occupe une place prépondérante dans l’oeuvre de Morandi. A partir des années 1920, l’artiste s’y atèle avec rigueur et détermination. Entraîné dans l’eau forte, il transpose ses nouvelles acquisitions formelles en peinture, où l’on trouve le raffinement de sa sensibilité chromatique. En réalité, Morandi est d’abord considéré comme un maître de la gravure. L’artiste connaît une renommée notoire, à tel point qu’entre 1928 et 1934, il est invité aux Biennales vénitiennes dans la section du noir et du blanc. En 1930, la Ville de Bologne lui confie la chaire de gravure à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts. Il atteindra son apogée dans le domaine, au cours des années 1933-1934. En 1948, la Chalcographie Nationale de Rome présente une revue anthologique de ses eaux fortes.

Seule la technique sépare les gravures de Morandi de ses peintures et la réciprocité est telle que dans les hachures de ses eaux-fortes, on peut parfois y voir l’équivalent de coups de pinceau. Toute l’image s’anime par la trame plus ou moins dense de ses rayures. Ces portions d’espace non remplies semblent une épuration volontaire du réel, dans sa recherche de l’essentiel.

L’accrochage de l’exposition laisse opérer la magie d’un dialogue imaginaire entre les deux artistes. Le ballet immobile des clichés réalisés par Folon, suspendus en couple dans l’espace et dans le temps, semble répondre à la silencieuse et secrète symphonie des contrastes orchestrée par le maitre Morandi…

×

L'accès au musée se fait sans réservation.

Les réservations sont uniquement obligatoires pour les activités intergénérationnelles (visites guidées et ateliers artistiques).

Chargement en cours...

Tarifs

Musée

Standard 12€
+65 ans 10€
-26 ans (étudiant avec carte) 5€
-18 ans 5€
-6 ans Gratuit
Forfait famille (2 adultes & 3 enfants) 30€
museumPASSmusées ; ICOM ; presse Gratuit
Professeur (avec la carte Prof) 6€
Article 27 (avec 1 ticket) 1,25€
Personne porteuse de handicap (+1 accompagnant) Gratuit

Exposition temporaire

Standard 10€
+65 ans 9€
-26 ans (étudiant avec carte) 5€
-18 ans 5€
-6 ans Gratuit
Forfait famille (2 adultes & 3 enfants) 30€
museumPASSmusées ; ICOM ; presse Gratuit
Professeur (avec la carte Prof) 6€
Article 27 (avec 1 ticket) 1,25€
Personne porteuse de handicap (+1 accompagnant) Gratuit

Musée et expositions temporaires

Standard 15€
+65 ans 12€
-26 ans (étudiant avec carte) 5€
-18 ans 5€
-6 ans Gratuit
Forfait famille (2 adultes & 3 enfants) 35€
museumPASSmusées ; ICOM ; presse Gratuit
Professeur (avec la carte Prof) 6€
Article 27 (avec 1 ticket) 1,25€
Personne porteuse de handicap (+1 accompagnant) Gratuit

Avantages partenaire

La Fondation Folon est partenaire d’EducPass, du Passeport 365, du Coupon 365, du VIF & KNACK Club et du PASS VisitWallonia. Merci de présenter votre carte afin de bénéficier de l’avantage.