LITHOGRAPHS

Drawn from Peter Bramsen’s collection, the works in the exhibition traced half a century of adventure and friendship, which resulted in works full of audacity, humour and freedom. In them, we see the vibrancy of the artist’s graphic vocabulary. The blacks and whites in which the energetic brushstroke expresses its evocative power are juxtaposed with the intense, sometimes furious colours which explode from the brisk paintbrush. In printing there is a way of using colour which takes your breath away, explains Pierre Alechinsky. With Peter, I followed a clear path that starts from the colour itself: warm, animal, vegetable, mineral, cold and ethereal.

PETER & PIERRE: the printer and the artist

We attacked our first stone in 1963, recalls Peter Bramsen. He has printing in his blood. He knows all the tricks of the trade. Printing is a second family for him. It’s always a joy to work with such an artist, who is so precise and a true master of his craft. You can tell how much he loves it. His most admirable qualities are his patience and his extraordinary powers of concentration. And this means that he never leaves anything to chance. Even if that means spending hours walking around his stone, prowling around it, inspecting it from every conceivable angle, to position it, hone it, scribble on parts of it, add things to it, get rid of marks, envisage a colour, another colour, etc. Quite a process, which might seem pointless to the uninitiated – but that is where all his talent lies. Pierre loves taking risks.

PROCESSED DOCUMENTS

The artist used his paintbrush in combination with other media: old pieces of writing, notarial deeds, outdated invoices and their corresponding demands for payment “by return of post”. These sources of inspiration, picked up at flea markets and then faithfully reproduced, are given a second life.

UNBROWSABLE BOOKS

The exhibition also featured around twenty porcelain books created by the ceramic artist Hans Spinner and painted by Pierre Alechinsky. A little Chinese paintbrush that I know well, dipped in cobalt oxide. This paintbrush designed for use on a rectangle of canvas or paper suddenly invents new journeys. In the third dimension.

×

Reservations are not required for museum.

Only intergenerational activities (guided tours and art workshops) are subject to booking.

Loading...

Rates

Museum

Adult 12€
Senior (+65 years old) 10€
Student (-26 years with card) 5€
Youngster (-18 years old) 5€
-6 years Free of charge
Family package (2 adults & 3 children) 30€
museumPASSmusées; ICOM; Presse Free of charge
Teacher (with card) 6€
Article 27 (with 1 ticket) 1.25€
Disabled person (+1 accompanying person) Free of charge

Temporary exhibition

Adult 10€
Senior (+65 years old) 9€
Student (-26 years with card) 5€
Youngster (-18 years old) 5€
-6 years Free of charge
Family package (2 adults & 3 children) 30€
museumPASSmusées; ICOM; Presse Free of charge
Teacher (with card) 6€
Article 27 (with 1 ticket) 1.25€
Disabled person (+1 accompanying person) Free of charge

Museum and temporary exhibition

Adult 15€
Senior (+65 years old) 12€
Student (-26 years with card) 5€
Youngster (-18 years old) 5€
-6 years Free of charge
Family package (2 adults & 3 children) 35€
museumPASSmusées; ICOM; Presse Free of charge
Teacher (with card) 6€
Article 27 (with 1 ticket) 1.25€
Disabled person (+1 accompanying person) Free of charge

Partner benefits

The Fondation Folon is a partner of EducPass, Passeport 365, Coupon 365, PASS VisitWallonia, VIF & KNACK Club. Please show your card to claim your discount.

LES LITHOGRAPHIES

Issue de la collection de Peter Bramsen, l’exposition a retracé un demi-siècle d’aventure et d’amitié qui a fait naître des œuvres riches d’audace, d’humour et de liberté. On y retrouve les fulgurances du vocabulaire graphique de l’artiste. Les noirs et les blancs dans lesquels l’énergie du trait impose sa force d’évocation côtoient des couleurs intenses, quelquefois furieuses, qui éclatent sous la vivacité du pinceau. En imprimerie il y a un emploi de la couleur qui porte à l’étonnement, explique Pierre Alechinsky. Avec Peter, j’ai suivi une voie libre qui part de la couleur même : la chaude, l’animale, la végétale, la minérale, la froide, l’aérienne.

PETER & PIERRE : l’imprimeur et l’artiste

En 1963 nous attaquons notre première pierre, se souvient Peter Bramsen. Il a l’imprimerie dans le sang. Il en connaît tous les trucs. L’imprimerie est pour lui comme une seconde famille. C’est toujours un bonheur d’officier auprès d’un tel artiste, aussi précis et qui maîtrise si bien le métier. On sent qu’il l’aime. Ses plus grandes qualités sont la patience et son extraordinaire pouvoir de concentration. Ce qui le pousse à ne jamais rien laisser au hasard. Quitte à passer plusieurs heures à tourner autour de sa pierre, à rôder, sous tous les angles, pour la mettre en place, la peaufiner, griffonner des parties, ajouter de la matière, faire disparaître des points, imaginer une teinte, une autre, etc. Toute une cuisine qui peut paraître bien futile à l’amateur, mais où réside tout le secret de son talent. Pierre adore le risque.

PAPIERS TRAITÉS

L’artiste invite son pinceau à utiliser d’autres supports : vieilles écritures, actes notariés, factures désuètes et leurs demandes de règlement « par retour de courrier ». Ces sources d’inspiration chinées aux puces, puis reproduites à l’identique trouvent une deuxième vie.

LES INFEUILLETABLES

L’exposition a aussi présenté une vingtaine de livres en porcelaine modelés par le céramiste Hans Spinner et destinés au pinceau de Pierre Alechinsky. Un petit pinceau de Chine que je connais bien, trempé dans l’oxyde de cobalt. Ce pinceau voué au rectangle de toile ou de papier invente soudain de nouveaux itinéraires. Dans la troisième dimension.

×

L'accès au musée se fait sans réservation.

Les réservations sont uniquement obligatoires pour les activités intergénérationnelles (visites guidées et ateliers artistiques).

Chargement en cours...

Tarifs

Musée

Standard 12€
+65 ans 10€
-26 ans (étudiant avec carte) 5€
-18 ans 5€
-6 ans Gratuit
Forfait famille (2 adultes & 3 enfants) 30€
museumPASSmusées ; ICOM ; presse Gratuit
Professeur (avec la carte Prof) 6€
Article 27 (avec 1 ticket) 1,25€
Personne porteuse de handicap (+1 accompagnant) Gratuit

Exposition temporaire

Standard 10€
+65 ans 9€
-26 ans (étudiant avec carte) 5€
-18 ans 5€
-6 ans Gratuit
Forfait famille (2 adultes & 3 enfants) 30€
museumPASSmusées ; ICOM ; presse Gratuit
Professeur (avec la carte Prof) 6€
Article 27 (avec 1 ticket) 1,25€
Personne porteuse de handicap (+1 accompagnant) Gratuit

Musée et expositions temporaires

Standard 15€
+65 ans 12€
-26 ans (étudiant avec carte) 5€
-18 ans 5€
-6 ans Gratuit
Forfait famille (2 adultes & 3 enfants) 35€
museumPASSmusées ; ICOM ; presse Gratuit
Professeur (avec la carte Prof) 6€
Article 27 (avec 1 ticket) 1,25€
Personne porteuse de handicap (+1 accompagnant) Gratuit

Avantages partenaire

La Fondation Folon est partenaire d’EducPass, du Passeport 365, du Coupon 365, du VIF & KNACK Club et du PASS VisitWallonia. Merci de présenter votre carte afin de bénéficier de l’avantage.